Llama Llama Red Pajama by Anna Dewdney


Llama Llama Red Pajama (2005)
Written and Illustrated by Anna Dewdney


In honor of Jumpstart’s Read for the Record campaign, which provides free books to low income families, I will be one of over 2 million people reading Llama Llama Red Pajama to young children today. I will be reading to about fifteen children ages two and three at the preschool where I work. I am very excited to be sharing one of our household’s favorite funny stories with these kids for such a great cause.

Llama Llama Red Pajama is a fun story about a little llama who is having a hard time going to sleep by himself. With the use of fun rhymes throughout the story the little llama learns that his mama llama is always there for him, and overcomes his bedtime worries and fears. This story is very sweet and funny. Both young children and their parents will be able to relate to how the little llama acts at bedtime. There is a lot of love at the end of the story as well, making it a sweet little bedtime story that will easily be enjoyed time and time again.

I really enjoyed the use of rhyme and rhythm in this book. It helped the simple story flow and it is an absolute joy to read aloud. To go along with this nice story, the artwork is very appealing. The characters are drawn to look soft and the colors are attractive. Just the fact that the characters themselves are llamas may often be interesting to children as well, who are used to more common animals being in their books.

I think this book is best for children of the early childhood age range, but can easily be enjoyed by both younger and older children. As I already mentioned it really is a great story book to real aloud and is perfect at bedtime. For children who enjoy hearing this story you should know that there were a few more written about the same little llama and his mama and they are all up to the same level of quality as the first one.

Grade:
Content- A
Illustrations- A
Readability- A
FINAL GRADE- A

4 thoughts on “Llama Llama Red Pajama by Anna Dewdney

  1. Just finished reading this one. I have to agree with all the points you made. I thought your description of the story as “very sweet and funny” was right on the mark. I liked the art style, though they may be my nemeses I even liked the way the llamas were illustrated. All in all a pleasant read, and another insightful review. Keep up the good work. 🙂

    • I think my daughter was about two when we first came across this book. She loved it, and I loved reading it to her, and we still feel the same way three years later! It is really fun to read aloud, I hope you both enjoy it! 🙂

Leave a comment